About Us

Our mission is to enhance the educational experiences of students and teachers by connecting community resources through collaboration, recognition, and innovative partnerships.  We aim to inspire!  One of our leading programs supplies fully stocked school backpacks to 170 (and growing) elementary school children at the start of each school year in Orange, Edgecombe, Nash and Pitt Counties in North Carolina, among other locations.  We bring together schools, the Y, local businesses and other organizations to get packs onto the shoulders of underserved school children.  MRCF also awards scholarships to underserved high school and college seniors who have excelled in their fields of study at schools in North Carolina and beyond.


The community was very important to Krissy and the Monet Richardson Community Foundation partners with charities to help support the community.


Continuing the work that Krissy started at the Y – Learning Program to provide backpacks to students. This helps set them up for success in and out of the classroom.


Krissy used her college opportunity to study Social Work to help her give back. In her honor, as part of her legacy, scholarships are awarded to help other students do the same.

Board of Directors

Building Sound Governance for the MRCF

We currently are served by a Board of Directors of many professionals and activists from the community, local businesses, and educational institutions.  We plan to expand our board ranks with specified skills and expertise that can help us grow responsibly.  In the short term, the MRCF is keen to bring on new board members with specific backgrounds and skill sets for upcoming term 2022-2023.

Patricia Richardson – Executive Director/Anthem Inc.

Charles Watson – Chair/Richmond Technical Center


Nakisha Floyd – Secretary/Nash Community College

Patrick Lyons – Treasurer/100 Black Men

Trimble Adams – Board Member/Ernst & Young LLP

Sarah Blount – Board Member/Jordan & Blount, PLLC

Melchee Johnson – Board Member/University of North Carolina Chapel Hill

Durell Petway – Board Member/Boys and Girls Club of Tar River Region

Randy Smith – Board Member/Chapel Hill-Carrboro YMCA

Event Planning Committee

Sara Blount, Melchee Johnson, Sue Klapper, Sondra Komada, Susan Little, Aisha McClellan, Meg Scully, & Sharie Walker

What We've Accomplished

Backpacks Donated
$ 0
Scholarship Dollars Awarded

Sign Up For Updates